Life is busy – work, friends, fitness, sleep (who does that anymore?). So how do you stay healthy and manage your busy schedule all in one? My best tip – prepare your meals in advance. Bake a large batch of protein and veggies and save them in your fridge for the week. Simple as that! Usually I designate Sunday or Monday as my cooking days to make one large meal and then I’ll eat off of it for the rest of the week. Get home from a workout at 8 and don’t want to cook? Work run late and you don’t get home until 10? No worries, dinner is already made.

Heres the recipe I made this week. I got it off of the AMAZING blog http://www.paleomg.com. This girl not only has great recipes, shes also hilarious! I encourage you to check it out.

Ingredients
  • 4 large chicken breasts
  • 2 large shallots, peeled and thinly sliced (I used a med yellow onion – cheaper than shallots this week!)
  • 5-7 medjool dates, pitted and diced
  • 2 apricots sliced thin (Not in the original recipe, but I added them for extra color and flavor)
  • 3 large sprigs of fresh rosemary
  • 2-3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • salt and pepper, to taste
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Pull out a large glass baking dish and place chicken in it.
  3. Top chicken off with your sliced shallots and dates (and apricots if you used them).
  4. Now pull the rosemary off one of the sprigs and toss over the chicken, then place the remaining 2 rosemary sprigs around the chicken.
  5. Finish the chicken off by pouring over olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and apple cider vinegar and topping it off with salt and pepper.
  6. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until chicken is cooked through. No pink please. Depending on how large your chicken breasts are, you may need to cook them for extra time. You be the judge!Image

Now when its done, I usually take two forks and shred the chicken then package it up. If you would rather cut the breasts in half and leave them whole that’s totally up to you. I often pair meals like this with frozen vegetables like steamers (in the frozen food aisle – a busy girls godsend). Helps to get in the extra veggies and carbs to fuel my busy day and workouts!

Happy eating 🙂

